Offroad & Motorsport

Rally Livereporting


FIA/FIM Standings


Paper Models

Imprint & Contact

Advertise with us

Photo Services

Public Relations


Please type your
search-word(s) and
press "Enter"

ABSA South African Championship 2007 Special-Newssection

This is the single-news section of the special of the ABSA South African Offroad Championship series 2007. To see all news please use the link under the article or navigate with the left main-navigation.

ABSA 2007: Cox/Ter Stege give new Motorite BAT maiden victory.

Reigning South African champions Alfie Cox and Hennie ter Stege produced a fairytale victory for the Motorite BAT team when they won the Special Vehicle category on the Sun City 400, round three of the Absa Off Road Championship, in Sun City on Saturday. Cox and ter Stege overcame a poor start position and teething problems on the new Spec 3 BAT to score their first win of the season. Cox and ter Stege, who started from 18th position after a troubled run on the prologue that determined grid positions, were also the third different crew to win this season.

Second were Herman Sullwald and Morne Moller in the Sullwald Transport Zarco, with Polokwane crew Naeem Moosajee and Rayhoon Bodhanya third in the Total Motorsport Jimco. For Moosajee and Bodhanya it was their best ever national result with the pair nursing the car home after blowing the motor eight kilometers from the finish.

"It was a nightmare weekend and I can’t believe we pulled off a win," said Cox. "We had overheating problems on the prologue, and a misfire throughout today’s race. When the car went it went like hell, so there is enormous potential. It was tough going but the result makes it all worthwhile."

Life at the front of the field was also made a little easier by the demise of some fancied crews. Championship leaders Nick and Ryan Harper, in the Atlas Copco BAT, hit a rock and broke a control arm early on the first of three loops that made up the route, while Atlas Copco Porter team-mates Gary Bertholdt and Henry Kirstein were sidelined by mechanical gremlins.

The top five were completed by Evan Hutchison/Achim Bergmann, in the second Motorite BAT, who finished the race with no brakes and Terence Marsh and Pieter Groenewald in the Regent Racing Jimco. A good race for the fledgling Regent team saw Mike Whitehouse and Dean Langton finish sixth.

Another Regent car, crewed by Hendrik and Jan Kraaij came in seventh to win Class B just ahead of KwaZulu-Natal pair Marcus Taylor and Derek Keith in the JRE. For the Kraaij’s, in only their second year of off road racing, it was their third Class B win in three outings this season.

In a little cameo performance the last two crews home before the cut off point were Class S arch rivals Nic Goslar/Richard Carolin (Kopanong Hotel Superteam Raceco), and championship leaders Richard Schilling and Chris Davies in the Plastotech Aceco. Only minutes separated the two teams with Schilling and Davies losing over an hour fixing all sorts of mechanical problems.

2007/05/13 | 15:18 CET | Editor: MR/HS/Charmaine Fortune

News Navigation: [ News Rally Live ]x[ News Offroad / Motorsports ]x[ Newsletter ]x[ Home ]

Copyright 2003 - 2008 | Imprint | Privacy / Credits / Legal | All rights reserved by international
Offices/Representatives: Cologne | Budapest | Qatar | Cairo | Kuala Lumpur | St. Petersburg | Manila | Prague
Major office: international | Broicher Weg 6 | 53844 Cologne Troisdorf | Germany
Phone: +49 177 267 41 32 | Fax: +49 30 48 49 83 087 | Email: