Offroad & Motorsport

Rally Livereporting


FIA/FIM Standings


Rally Links

Paper Models

Picture Database

Imprint & Contact

Photo Services

Public Relations


Please type your
search-word(s) and
press "Enter"

This is the single-news section of the news "Offroad & Motorsports". To see all news please use the link under the article or navigate with the left main-navigation.

ABSA 2009: Controversy hits Adenco 400 Special Vehicle prologue.

There was a controversial end today to the Special Vehicle prologue on the Adenco 400, the opening round of the Absa Off Road Championship, to be run in the Darling/Mamre area tomorrow. Provisional results saw the Century Racing BAT pair of Colin Matthews and Alan Smith were originally credited with a win on the prologue which determines start positions in the race proper. But the pair were later penalised 30 minutes for deviating from the route and this relegated them to 19th place.

The decision by the stewards of the meeting elevated reigning South African champions Karl-Heinz Sullwald and son Quintin, in the Sullwald Racing Bat, to pole position. They were followed by impressive newcomers Jimmy Zahous and Stephan Coetzee, in the Atlas Copco Porter, and former South African champions Evan Hutchison and Achim Bergmann in the impressive new Motorite Revo1 4x4.

"It was a very rough route and we wrong slotted on a number of occasions," said Sullwald senior. "The brakes weren’t all that hot so we’ll make changes there, but overall it was a good off road route."

Hutchison was a little more forthright saying it was the roughest prologue he had ever done. He was more than happy, however, to bring the revolutionary 4x4 car home in one piece.

Fourth and fifth were filled by former SA champion Shameer Variawa and Siegfried Rousseau (Total Porter) and Naeem Moosajee and Mohammad Moultson in the Tyrerack Porter. For Moosajee it was an important result after a huge accident on this event last season kept him out of off road racing for all but the last race of the year. "It was tough on the body and the machine but it did a lot of good for my confidence," said Moosajee. "We had an odo problem but otherwise the car was good."

There was a major boost for Bez Bezuidenhout, who won Class B last year, and son Deon in the Adenco BAT. The pair set the fastest Class B time ahead of Derick du Toit and Ian Pienaar in another BAT.

Third were Simon Beckett and Steve Harris in the Century Racing BAT. Only 20 seconds separated the Bezuidenhout’s and du Toit/Pienaar while Beckett/Harris have a mountain to climb in making up more than 10 minutes.

The impressive KwaZulu-Natal pair of Don Thompson and Don Blakey set the pace in Class P in the privateer Zarco. They were mixing it with the likes of Variawa/Rousseau and Moosajee/Moultson but only had a 16 second advantage over reigning champions Johan and Etienne Bezuidenhout (Adenco BAT) who were obviously relishing home ground advantage.

Third in Class P were former SA multiple champion Richard Schilling and Chris Davies in the Aceco RS. They had a couple of wrong slots but are within three minutes of the class leaders and a good battle could develop.

2009/04/02 | 17:14 CET | Editor: MR/HS/Charmaine Fortune

News Navigation: [ News Rally Live ]x[ News Offroad / Motorsports ]x[ Newsletter ]x[ Home ]

Copyright 2003 - 2010 | Imprint | Privacy / Credits / Legal | All rights reserved by international
Offices/Representatives: London | Cologne | Budapest | Qatar | Cairo | Kuala Lumpur | St. Petersburg | Prague | Manila
Major office: international | Broicher Weg 6 | 53844 Cologne-Troisdorf | Germany
Phone: +49 151 25 22 33 47 | Fax: +49 30 48 49 83 087 | Email: