Offroad & Motorsport

Rally Livereporting


FIA/FIM Standings


Rally Links

Paper Models

Picture Database

Imprint & Contact

Photo Services

Public Relations


Please type your
search-word(s) and
press "Enter"

This is the single-news section of the news "Offroad & Motorsports". To see all news please use the link under the article or navigate with the left main-navigation.

ABSA 2009: Dust settles on Special Vehicle Championship.

With the dust settled on the Special Vehicle category championship in the Absa Off Road Championship, the title-winning efforts of Evan Hutchison and Achim Bergmann had a Buttonesque look about them. Recently crowned Formula One world champion Jenson Button won six of the first seven events, and then went a little off the boil. In similar vein Hutchison and Bergmann, in the Motorite Revo1 4X4, won four of the first five events and then failed to see out the distance over the last two events.

By that time, however, Hutchison and Bergmann had clinched both the overall and Class A championships. Hutchison also ended the year with the bonus of having won Class A7 in the Sasol Rally Championship – a unique achievement.

Second place in the overall and Class A stakes was decided at the RFS Magalies 400. A win on the final event of the season lifted Nick and Ryan Harper, in the Atlas Copco BAT, clear of Shameer Variawa and Siegfried Rousseau (Total Porter) who finished down the pecking order after a clutch problem.

There was a change of order in the Class A championship thanks to anomalies in off road scoring. Here Naeem Moosajee (Tyre Rack Jimco) took third among the drivers ahead of Variawa and Mike Whitehouse in the Regent Racing BAT.

Mathew Carlson, who partnered Whitehouse, was third among the co-drivers ahead of Rousseau and Mohammed Moultson who partnered Moosajee for most of the season. Moultson, however, missed the last two races. The Harpers and Whitehouse/Carlson were the only Special vehicle crews to go through the season with 100 percent finish records.

Class B was dominated throughout the season by Cape crew Derrick du Toit and Ian Pienaar in the Orange Tree BAT. The pair, with Pienaar missing one event and now in retirement, romped home by clear margins.

Perseverance paid off for brothers Keith and Andrew Makenete who were second in the Zarco Lite with Johan de Klerk, in another Zarco Lite, taking third among the drivers. Steve Harris, who partnered Simon Beckett and du Toit during the season, edged out de Klerk’s co-driver, Louis Pretorius, in the navigator stakes.

The Class P battle went all the way to the wire with defending champions Johan and Etienne Bezuidenhout (Adenco BAT) coming up with a win at just the right time to wrap up back to back titles. Second among the drivers went to KZN driver Don Thompson who made use of three co-drivers during the season.

Thompson edged out Johan van Staden who, along with James Rossouw (KEC BAT) scored a maiden win on the RFS Magalies 400. Rossouw was second among the co-drivers and the unlucky pair were David and Gary White (Ruwacon BAT), who had a miserable time of it on the final event and finished fourth and third in the driver and co-driver championships.

2009/11/20 | 14:12 CET | Editor: MR/HS/Charmaine Fortune

News Navigation: [ News Rally Live ]x[ News Offroad / Motorsports ]x[ Newsletter ]x[ Home ]

Copyright 2003 - 2010 | Imprint | Privacy / Credits / Legal | All rights reserved by international
Offices/Representatives: London | Cologne | Budapest | Qatar | Cairo | Kuala Lumpur | St. Petersburg | Prague | Manila
Major office: international | Broicher Weg 6 | 53844 Cologne-Troisdorf | Germany
Phone: +49 151 25 22 33 47 | Fax: +49 30 48 49 83 087 | Email: