Offroad & Motorsport

Rally Livereporting


FIA/FIM Standings


Rally Links

Paper Models

Picture Database

Imprint & Contact

Photo Services

Public Relations


Please type your
search-word(s) and
press "Enter"

This is the single-news section of the news "Offroad & Motorsports". To see all news please use the link under the article or navigate with the left main-navigation.

ABSA 2009: Turnaround in fortunes for Hutschison/Bergmann.

After two events former South African champions Evan Hutchison and Achim Bergmann have gathered in more Special Vehicle category points than they managed in the whole of last season’s Absa Off Road Championship. Two wins in a row at the start of the season represent a major turnaround in fortunes for Hutchison and Bergmann. Even more noteworthy is the fact that they have picked up wins on the Adenco 400 and Eastern Cape 400 in the new Revo1 4x4.

New race cars are notoriously fickle but the Revo1 4 X 4 has already carried Hutchison and Bergmann to double the number of wins they managed last season. It is early days in the overall and Class A championships, but Hutchison and Bergmann are off to a flyer and will be difficult to catch over the rest of the season.

Two steady races have lifted Mike Whitehouse and Mathew Carlson (Regent Racing BAT) into second place in the overall championship. They are closely followed by Nick and Ryan Harper (Atlas Copco BAT) and Naeem Moosajee/Mathew Moultson (Tyre Rack Jimco) who are tied in third place.

Class P leaders Johan and Etienne Bezuidenhout (Adenco BAT) and Shameer Variawa and Siegfried Rousseau (Total Porter) and are tied for fourth. Former Class B champions Jan and Hendrik Kraaij (Keymax BAT) round out the top five.

The vagaries of off road scoring with different structures for overall and class points see a slightly different picture in Class A. Here the Harpers, Moosajee/Moultson and Whitehouse/Carlson are all tied for second place behind Hutchison and Bergmann.

There were no Class B finishers on the recent Eastern Cape 400 and the Century Racing pair of Simon Beckett and Steve Harris gave the race a miss. That means the top three remain the same as after the Adenco 400 with Bes and Deon Bezuidenhout (Adenco BAT) leading Beckett/Harris and Derick du Toit and Ian Pienaar in the Orange Tree BAT.

Class P has the makings of turning into a hugely competitive category. Adenco 400 winners Johan and Etienne Bezuidenhout (Adenco BAT) have a win and a third to their credit and that is enough to give them an early season lead over the Kraaij’s who made a return to racing in the Eastern Cape and picked up a win.

Third are newcomers Johan van Staden and James Rossouw in the KEC BAT. They picked up an impressive second place on the Eastern Cape 400 and look to be a team to watch in the future.

2009/04/27 | 13:58 CET | Editor: MR/HS/Charmaine Fortune

News Navigation: [ News Rally Live ]x[ News Offroad / Motorsports ]x[ Newsletter ]x[ Home ]

Copyright 2003 - 2010 | Imprint | Privacy / Credits / Legal | All rights reserved by international
Offices/Representatives: London | Cologne | Budapest | Qatar | Cairo | Kuala Lumpur | St. Petersburg | Prague | Manila
Major office: international | Broicher Weg 6 | 53844 Cologne-Troisdorf | Germany
Phone: +49 151 25 22 33 47 | Fax: +49 30 48 49 83 087 | Email: