Offroad & Motorsport

Rally Livereporting


FIA/FIM Standings


Rally Links

Paper Models

Picture Database

Imprint & Contact

Photo Services

Public Relations


Please type your
search-word(s) and
press "Enter"

This is the single-news section of the news "Offroad & Motorsports". To see all news please use the link under the article or navigate with the left main-navigation.

ABSA 2009: Vos/Pitchford take charge of Production Vehicle CCS.

Victory on the recent Sun City 400 has put the Donaldson Nissan Navara pair of Duncan Vos and Ralph Pitchford, in a virtually unassailable position at the top of the Production Vehicle overall and Class SP championships in the South African Absa Off Road Championship.

The Sun City 400 win was victory number four in five starts this season for Vos and Pitchford and gave them a whopping 65 point lead at the top of the overall championship. With three events left on the calendar this season, the Nissan pair are all but home and dry in both the overall and premier Class SP stakes.

The Sun City race again lived up to its reputation as one of the blue chip events on the Absa calendar. The event drew a record entry of 110 vehicles in national and regional championship categories, and again earned high praise from competitors from an organisational point of view.

The win by Vos and Pitchford also gave the Donaldson Nissan team a clean sweep in all five events run so far this year. The other victory went to veteran former SA champion Hannes Grobler and Juan Mohr on the Nissan Sugarbelt 400.

Behind Vos and Pitchford, however, there is a terrific battle developing. Only seven points separate three crews and there is going to be a dogfight over the last three events of the championship.

As matters stand two other Donaldson Nissan crews, Ivar Tollefsen and Quin Evans, and Grobler/Mohr lead Chris Visser/Japie Badenhorst (RFS Toyota Hilux) who crashed out of the Sun City 400 for their first non finish of the year. Also in the equation in the driver stakes is Gary Bertholdt (Atlas Copco Toyota Hilux), who is only five points behind Visser.

Bertholdt and Andre Vermeulen finished second on the Sun City 400 for their best result of the season. Vermeulen, however, missed the Toyota 1000 Desert Race when Bertholdt was partnered by Danie Stassen.

There are also some good battles developing further down the SP Class. Only five points separate Christiaan du Plooy/Henk Jansen van Vuuren (RFS Toyota Hilux), Terence Marsh/Pieter Groenewald (Regent Racing Nissan Navara) and Anthony Taylor/Robin Houghton (Castrol Toyota Hilux) in sixth, seventh and eighth places respectively.

Taylor/Houghton led both the Nissan Sugarbelt 400 and the Sun City 400 before being forced into retirement. Hein Lategan/Chris Birkin, in the second Castrol Toyota Hilux, drop to 10th after two non finishes and sandwiched between the two works entries are Pikkie Labuscagne and Rikus Erasmus who lead Class E in the 4x4 Megaworld Toyota Hilux.

The first of the Ford runners are privateers Kobus van Tonder and Riaan Guelpa in the Uni Freight Ford Ranger. The Ford Racing works team, however, will have been encouraged by a solid third place at Sun City for Neil Woolridge and Kenny Skjoldhammer in the new twin turbo diesel Ford Racing Ranger which is still under development.

Anomalies in the off road points scoring system sees a slightly different picture in the premier SP Class. Here Vos and Pitchford also have a comfortable lead over Tollefsen and Evans, but Visser/Badenhorst move ahead of Grobler/Mohr by just two points.

Cliff Weichelt, despite a second non finish in a row on the Sun City 400 in the N1 4x4 Toyota Hilux D4D, stays on top of the Class D driver championship. Son Louis made his driver debut at Sun City but at the moment is also still on top of the Class D co-driver championship.

A return to form in the Pilanesberg has consolidated second place in Class D for Dewald van Breda and Johann du Toit in the Northam Toyota D4D. They now have a 14 point lead over Heine Strumpher and Hendrik van der Linde (Micaren Exel Toyota Hilux) who were among the Sun City 400 casualties.

A Class E deadlock was broken at Sun City when Pikkie Labuscagne and Rikus Erasmus finished third with 4x4 Megaworld Toyota Hilux team-mates Deon Venter and Ian palmer falling by the wayside. The two teams were level pegging going into the Sun City race, but Labuscagne/Erasmus now have a 13 point lead.

The non finish has also put Venter and Palmer under pressure from reigning champions Jannie Visser and Joks le Roux in the RFS Toyota Hilux. Fourth place at Sun City moved Visser/le Roux to within two points of Venter and Palmer.

A good performance by Nissan at Sun City where Coetzee Labuscagne/Johan Gerber (Raysonics Nissan Hardbody) and Leeroy Poulter/Rob Howie (Ferodo Nissan Hardbody) won Class D and Class E respectively, saw them close to within 18 points of Toyota in the prestige South African Manufacturers Championship.

The next round of the Absa Off Road Championship, will be the Highveld 400 at Carnival City on August 28 & 29.

2009/07/31 | 13:42 CET | Editor: MR/HS/Charmaine Fortune

News Navigation: [ News Rally Live ]x[ News Offroad / Motorsports ]x[ Newsletter ]x[ Home ]

Copyright 2003 - 2010 | Imprint | Privacy / Credits / Legal | All rights reserved by international
Offices/Representatives: London | Cologne | Budapest | Qatar | Cairo | Kuala Lumpur | St. Petersburg | Prague | Manila
Major office: international | Broicher Weg 6 | 53844 Cologne-Troisdorf | Germany
Phone: +49 151 25 22 33 47 | Fax: +49 30 48 49 83 087 | Email: