Offroad & Motorsport

Rally Livereporting


FIA/FIM Standings


Rally Links

Paper Models

Picture Database

Imprint & Contact

Photo Services

Public Relations


Please type your
search-word(s) and
press "Enter"

This is the single-news section of the news "Offroad & Motorsports". To see all news please use the link under the article or navigate with the left main-navigation.

BORC 2007: Gordon Monaghan set to defend five-point series lead in Wales.

Marches 4x4 Motorsport Management Limited have received a staggering response to the second round of the 2007 Matador Tyres British Off-Road Championship (BORC), which takes place near Bleddfa in Mid-Wales on Saturday, June 2nd and Sunday, June 3rd.

Clubman entries for the two-day off-road bonanza do not close until the morning of Saturday, June 2nd, but officials have already received 45 entries for the main BORC Championship event and nine for the Trophy section. This highlights the burgeoning interest in off-road motorsport in the UK, as a result of the success of the inaugural Baja GB and international events such as the world famous Dakar Rally.

Heading the championship entry is Colin Gould in his Mattseratti, although he faces the usual stiff resistance from Keith Lewis's Simmbugghini and Simon Bown and Ryan Cooke in a pair of Land Rover Specials.

Championship leader Gordon Monaghan starts at eight in his Monaghan RS, behind both Huddersfield's Richard Kershaw and Lewis, his main rivals during the opening round at Baden Hall in April. Monaghan currently has a five-point series lead over Kershaw, with Lewis, Neil Davey and John Cockburn in close attendance.

The entry list sports a wide array of home-made and well-proven off-road machinery, with several powerful Bowler Wildcats, Land Rovers and Range Rovers splitting a field of Mattserattis, Tornados, Tomcats, Warriors and other home-made off-road creations.

The Trophy section features several of the leading contenders, including David Nutter, Shaun Godber, Matt Lowe, Tim Hayday and Roy Taylor. Nutter won the opening round at Baden Hall and takes a five-point advantage over Lowe to Bleddfa, with David Brown, Phil Elliott and Hayday completing the top five. Competitors in both the Championship and Trophy sections are permitted to use only Matador All-Terrain tyres.

The two-day event will be based at the Stud Farm in Bleddfa that was used as the headquarters for last year's inaugural Baja GB and features several runs through a varied and testing six-mile special stage.

"We were forced to switch from a venue at Ellesmere to this well-proven and popular venue at Bleddfa," said clerk of the course Selwyn Kendrick. "But the quality of our entry proves that this is a well-supported decision amongst our competitors. David Parry, the owner of Stud Farm, was most hospitable during last year's Baja GB and I'm sure that we will have a first class weekend's motorsport over an interesting and challenging special stage."

Documentation, scrutineering and noise test facilities will be available on Friday, June 1st for competitors wishing to arrive before the weekend. There will be a drivers' briefing at 09.30hrs on Saturday, June 2nd and competitive action will take place throughout Saturday and into Sunday, June 3rd. Catering and camping facilities will be available throughout the weekend.

Access points - Rally HQ/Special stage - The rally headquarters is at Nant-y-corddi, two miles on the Bleddfa side of Monaughty on the A488. Leave the road on OS map 148 - 225 680. The entrance to the farm is at SO 224 679. Please use the arrowed field entrance and not the entrance to the Stud Farm.

Top 10 starters

01. Colin Gould I Mattseratti
02. Keith Lewis I Simmbugghini
03. Simon Bown I Land Rover Special
04. Ryan Cooke I Land Rover Special
05. Carl Duffield I Tornado II
06. Dan Lofthouse I Lofthouse Proto LD4
07. Richard Kershaw I Peugeot 209 GSR Evo9
08. Gordon Monaghan I Monaghan RS
09. Ian Bartram I Warrior Storm
10. Neil Davey I Peugeot GSR 206 Evo

Matador BORC - positions after round 1 of 5:

01. Gordon Monaghan I 70 pts
02. Richard Kershaw I 65 pts
03. Keith Lewis I 60 pts
04. Neil Davey I 59 pts
05. John Cockburn I 58 pts, etc

BORC Trophy - positions after round 1 of 5:

01. David Nutter I 70 pts
02. Matt Lowe I 65 pts
03. David Brown I 60 pts
04. Phil Elliott I 59 pts
05. Tim Hayday I 58 pts
06. Roy Taylor I 57 pts

2007/05/29 | 11:22 CET | Editor: MR/HS/Mark Miller

News Navigation: [ News Rally Live ]x[ News Offroad / Motorsports ]x[ Newsletter ]x[ Home ]

Copyright 2003 - 2010 | Imprint | Privacy / Credits / Legal | All rights reserved by international
Offices/Representatives: London | Cologne | Budapest | Qatar | Cairo | Kuala Lumpur | St. Petersburg | Prague | Manila
Major office: international | Broicher Weg 6 | 53844 Cologne-Troisdorf | Germany
Phone: +49 151 25 22 33 47 | Fax: +49 30 48 49 83 087 | Email: