Offroad & Motorsport

Rally Livereporting


FIA/FIM Standings


Rally Links

Paper Models

Picture Database

Imprint & Contact

Photo Services

Public Relations


Please type your
search-word(s) and
press "Enter"

This is the single-news section of the news "Offroad & Motorsports". To see all news please use the link under the article or navigate with the left main-navigation.

Dos Sertoes: Faria and De Villiers are the stars of the Prologue.

As the evening started, the pilots have conduced their vehicles to a closed parking lot, placed behind some tribune tents– which were set for the great public that came to attend the promotional start of the 16th edition of the Sertões International Rally

Then, as the full moon shined over the starlit night from Goiânia, the tension and emotion started to fall over the pilots. At 8pm, the bikes started to go: two against two, through a very technical and 8-shaped circuit. All the other bikers watched the duel show, waiting for their time to also entertain the 15.000 spectators, all excited in their Brazilian rhythm. They all agree that there are no way to have a show so spectacular as the Sertoes Rally!

Ruben Faria (Honda) has left with #136 and, despite of the pression after the opening, the Portuguese won the first decision and the super prime with the best time. Chaleco Lopes (KTM), who was calm since he is used to race the Super Cross in a similar atmosphere, was qualified in second place, followed by Sthênio Pessanha Pessanha (KTM), Cyril Despres (KTM), Helder Rodrigues (Honda), David Casteu (KTM), Jordi Viladoms (KTM) and Marc Coma (KTM), recovered from a broken knee, result of an accident in the Central Europe Rally.

Regarding the cars, even with a certain prudence due to the trapped circuit, the Volkswagen team with Giniel de Villiers and Dirk von Zitzewitz has won while last year’s champion Mauricio Neves, against whom they fought, nearly striked the metal structure of the departure arch, falling back on the timekeeping panel and part of a television camera... The second place to Jean Azevedo (Mistubish), who has traded the bikes for cars. He was followed by Krzystof Holowczyc, navigated by Jean-Marc Fortin (Nissan Overdrive), Mark Miller/Ralf Pitchford (Volkswagen) and the Argentinean Andres Memi (Mitsubishi).

2008/06/19 | 12:17 CET | Editor: MR/HS/Vipcomm

News Navigation: [ News Rally Live ]x[ News Offroad / Motorsports ]x[ Newsletter ]x[ Home ]

Copyright 2003 - 2010 | Imprint | Privacy / Credits / Legal | All rights reserved by international
Offices/Representatives: London | Cologne | Budapest | Qatar | Cairo | Kuala Lumpur | St. Petersburg | Prague | Manila
Major office: international | Broicher Weg 6 | 53844 Cologne-Troisdorf | Germany
Phone: +49 151 25 22 33 47 | Fax: +49 30 48 49 83 087 | Email: