Offroad & Motorsport

Rally Livereporting


FIA/FIM Standings


Rally Links

Paper Models

Picture Database

Imprint & Contact

Photo Services

Public Relations


Please type your
search-word(s) and
press "Enter"

OiLibya Rally 2009 Special-Newssection (FIA Cross Country Worldcup)

This is the single-news section of the special of the OiLibya Rally 2009, second round of the FIA Worldcup for Cross Country Rallys. To see all news please use the link under the article or navigate with the left main-navigation.

OiLibya Rally: Eric Vogouroux and Jordi Viladoms win in Stage 7.

After Monday’s neutralisation the 27th Rallye OiLibya de Tunisie restarted today with a 410 kilometre stage between Brack and Ouaryat. Technical and physically demanding for the bikes, victory went to the Spaniard Jordi Viladoms ahead of the Chilean ‘Chaleco Lopez and the overall leader Marc Coma, all KTM mounted. In the 450 category Olivier Pain placed his Yamaha in front of Luca Manca and Bruno Da Costa. In the cars Eric Vigouroux was fastest in his Trophy Truck ahead of the BMWs of Orlando Terranova and Leonid Novitskiy.

The rally ‘caravane’ reached the bivouac at Quaryat after a stage that was technical to start with, before becoming rapid over the second half. And with the regularity of a metronome Jordi Viladoms won the stage in the motorcycle class ahead of ‘Chaleco’ Lopez and Marc Coma. Opening the piste this morning, Cyril Despres suffered with the tricky navigation and lost more time on the overall leader Marc Coma, as did David Casteu and Pal Anders Ullevalseter, who rode the last 40 kilometres following their compass heading.

In the 450 category Olivier Pain had a ‘perfect day’. Delighted with his performance, he pulls back some time on overall class leader Luca Manca. Congratulations also to Bruno Da Costa who finished third and to ex-French rugby international Christian Califano, still in the rally despite a big crash four days ago and a night out in the dunes two days ago.

Also happy with his day was the winner in the car class Eric Vigouroux, aboard his Trophy Truck. Since the start of the rally the Frenchman has suffered from a series of mechanical problems, as opposed to last year when he had a trouble free run. But today, over the difficult terrain, everything came good, to allow the American based Frenchman to win the special ahead of the BMW X3s of Orlando Terranova and Leonid Novitskiy, both of whom suffered punctures. A fate that also befell Jean-Louis Schlesser and his new buggy, who nevertheless finished fourth ahead of Nicolas Misslin - victim of two punctures.

Overall Terranova still hold the lead ahead of Christian Lavieille and Leonid Novitskiy. Guerlain Chicherit in the third BMW lost a considerable amount of time with a broken turbo while Pascale Thomasse stays in the Top 5.

In the T2 category today it was the Italian crew of Michele De Nora - Maurizio Dominella who posted the fastest time ahead of overall leaders Artem Varentsov - Roman Elagin.

2009/04/29 | 13:12 CET | Editor: MR/HS/Lidye Arpizou

News Navigation: [ News Rally Live ]x[ News Offroad / Motorsports ]x[ Newsletter ]x[ Home ]

Copyright 2003 - 2010 | Imprint | Privacy / Credits / Legal | All rights reserved by international
Offices/Representatives: London | Cologne | Budapest | Qatar | Cairo | Kuala Lumpur | St. Petersburg | Prague | Manila
Major office: international | Broicher Weg 6 | 53844 Cologne-Troisdorf | Germany
Phone: +49 151 25 22 33 47 | Fax: +49 30 48 49 83 087 | Email: