Offroad & Motorsport

Rally Livereporting


FIA/FIM Standings


Rally Links

Paper Models

Picture Database

Imprint & Contact

Photo Services

Public Relations


Please type your
search-word(s) and
press "Enter"

This is the single-news section of the news "Offroad & Motorsports". To see all news please use the link under the article or navigate with the left main-navigation.

Rally dos Sertoes: Sainz wins stage and clusters Sertões leadership on Stage 8.

Only two stages to the end of Sertões International Rally, the dispute between cars is exciting. In this Wednesday special, victory went to the pair Carlos Sainz and Lucas Cruz, who finished the race in 1h51min04s. Still leaders in their categry, Nasser Al-Attiyah/ Timo Gottschalk finished today special in 1h52min42s placing second. In the general accumulated time, they are mere three seconds ahead of the second place.

“Carlos and I are from the same team. Whoever wins the race, Volkswagen will also win. But I sure do want to win. It is the first time I drive the Touareg, and the first time I race in Brazil, so it will be very nice to win here”, said Nasser, trying to be diplomatic in his team.

Twice Speed Rally world champion, Spanish pilot Carlos Sainz expects getting still better results in the last specials. “I’ll start the race and I expect everything goes all right. Yesterday, we ended up loosing too much time due to temperature problems, and we had to stop many times, what has held us back. Now, we’re trying to recover”, said the Spanish pilot.

The German factory team still didn’t manage to guarantee the third place with Mauricio Neves/ Eduardo Bampi, who completed the race in 1h56min50s. The section between Petrolina (PE) and Juazeiro do Norte (CE) was one of the slowest in the whole rally. In total, they drove 483 kilometers, 65 kilometers initial liaison, 176 kilometers final liaison, and 197 kilometers of special. The section offered the pilots all kinds of terrain, unlike the day before, when all they faced was sand. The stage before the last in Sertões 09 will drive from Juazeiro do Norte (CE) – Caicó (RN)

Among the trucks, sovereignty stays with Edu Piano and Solon Mendes, who finished the stage in 2h17min47s. The pair crossed the finish line almost 17 minutes ahead of the second place, Amable Barrasa/ Guilherme Petrine, 2h34min44s. Third team to arrive to Juazeiro do Norte was Ulysses Marinzeck/ Evandro Bautz/ José Carvalho.

While on cars the difference between first and second places is only three seconds, on bikes Zé Hélio has around an hour of advantage over the second place, Denísio do Nascimento. In his seventh victory in this competition, the leader, who lost only on Friday to the Polish pilot Jakub Przygonski, concluded the special in 2h20min20s. Juca Bala had the second best time, finishing in 2h23min19s. Jakub Przygonski came right after him, only 28 seconds behind. Denísio do Nascimento that is still the second place in general classification, finished the special in 2h24min37s placing fourth.

The eight stage of the rally showed surprise among quads. Heronaldo de Andrade won the section, leaving the leaders behind. Carlo Collet placed second in the day. “This Wednesday stage was good for me, but I was trying to catch up time, and had a little mechanical problem. I lost around 15 or20 minutes, so now, I have to manage my second place”, said Collet.

Cristiano Sousa is still the leader, and he placed third today, when he raced hard against Collet. Their time difference is only 9 seconds.

Wednesday results:


1) Carlos Sainz/ Lucas Cruz – 1h51min04s
2) Nasser Al-Attiyah/ Timo Gottschalk – 1h52min42s
3) Mauricio Neves/ Eduardo Bampi – 1h56min50s


1) Edu Paino/ Solon Mendes – 2h17min47s
2) Amable Barrasa/ Guilherme Petrine – 2h34min44s
3) Ulysses Marinzeck/ Evadro Bautz/ Jose Carvalho – 2h50min56s


1) Zé Hélio – 2h20min20
2) Juca Bala – 2h23min19
3) Jakub Przygonski– 2h23min47


1) Heronaldo de Andrade – 2h56min26s
2) Carlo Collet – 3h00min19s
3) Cristiano Sousa – 3h00min22s

General classification


1) Nasser Al-Attiyah/ Timo Gottschalk – 26h13min44s70
2) Carlos Sainz / Lucas Cruz – 26h13min48s60
3) Jean Azevedo/ Youssef Haddad –29h25min13s30


1) Amable Barrasa/ Guilherme Petrine –– 24h15min54s4
2) Edu Piano/ Davi Fonseca/ Solon Mendes 24h19min01s4
3) Guido Salvini/ Fernando Chwaigert/ Weidner Moreira – 27h05min43s7


1) Zé Hélio - 30h57min55s1
2) Denisio Nascimento – 31h56min48s9
3) Juca Bala– 32h22min18s6


1) Cristiano Sousa – 36h40min31s0
2) Carlo Collet– 37h20min09s3
3) Bruno Sperancini – 41h35min58s8

2009/07/03 | 16:56 CET | Editor: MR/Webventure/Rita Konya

News Navigation: [ News Rally Live ]x[ News Offroad / Motorsports ]x[ Newsletter ]x[ Home ]

Copyright 2003 - 2010 | Imprint | Privacy / Credits / Legal | All rights reserved by international
Offices/Representatives: London | Cologne | Budapest | Qatar | Cairo | Kuala Lumpur | St. Petersburg | Prague | Manila
Major office: international | Broicher Weg 6 | 53844 Cologne-Troisdorf | Germany
Phone: +49 151 25 22 33 47 | Fax: +49 30 48 49 83 087 | Email: