Offroad & Motorsport

Rally Livereporting

Cars & Technics


FIA/FIM Standings


Paper Models

Imprint & Contact

Photo Services

Public Relations


Please type your
search-word(s) and
press "Enter"

Rali Transiberico 2007 Special-Newssection (FIA Cross Country Worldcup)

This is the single-news section of the special of the Rali Transiberico 2007, 1st round of the FIA Worldcup for Cross Country Rallys. To see all news please use the link under the article or navigate with the left main-navigation.

Transiberico: The "Rally Men" start leading in Portugal.

Carlos Sainz/Michel Perin and Colin McRae/Jean Marc- Fortin, were the fastest in the first test of the Rali Vodafone Transibérico, in front of the best Portuguese team, Miguel Barbosa/Luis Ramalho. A great start to the rally men, that will open the roads for the second leg, held in Beira-Baixa in the middle of Portugal. A good spectator attendance in the first special stage held in the Mafra fields - a national military reserve - to see the start of the 2007 Cross Country Rally World Cup, the Rali Vodafone Transibérico.

After scrutinnering 100 cars went to Mafra to a Super Special with 7.43 Km, a little narrow in the beginning and in the end, but fast enough to allow almost 73 Km of average speed, for the ex-World Rally Champion Carlos Sainz, the fastest in front of is "rally-colleague" Colin McRae, who, in a private car - of the Overdrive team lead by Gregoire De Mevius - could beat Miguel Barbosa (Proto Dessoude) and the two Mitsubishi "guys" Nani Roma and Luc Alphand.

To the Spaniard, it was a "great Special Stage, with a great rally-style track. We have done our best, and all was ok so we won. It is not the best position for tomorrow, but we will continue to attack, and try to win. I was a pleasure see so many people supporting us during the stage."

A great performance to Miguel Barbosa, and more Portuguese drivers in the first ten positions : João Ramos (Toyota RAV 4) and Filipe Campos (Nissan Navara), between the Mitsubishis and the Brazilian Paulo Nobre (BMW), and closing the "topten" Rui Sousa (Proto D-Max) and Luis Costa (Toyota Land Cruiser).

In the other categories , remarks for the "natural" T2 win of Francesc Termens (Mitsubishi) who leads the Spanish championship, in front of the "national" Américo Santos (Nissan) and André Gonzalez (Mitsubishi Montero).

For tomorrow the two first "real" special stages of the event, held in the Idanha-a-Nova region - two equal SS with 189,30 KM each - starting the leg at 5h00m, and the 2nd Special Stage at 8h45m, in the "Historic Village" of Idanha-a-Velha, and ending in the new Gravel Track of Águas, near Penamacor.

2007/05/31 | 17:38 CET | Editor: MR/HS/Press

News Navigation: [ News Rally Live ]x[ News Offroad / Motorsports ]x[ Newsletter ]x[ Home ]

Copyright 2003 - 2007 | Imprint | Privacy / Credits / Legal | All rights reserved by international
Offices/Representatives: Berlin | Budapest | Qatar | Cairo | Kuala Lumpur
Major office: international | Vogelherdstrasse 6 | 90419 Nuremberg | Germany
Phone: +49 177 267 41 32 | Fax: +49 30 48 49 83 087 | Email: